I had no intention of getting out behind the scenes of #WinterABC23, my intention was to read, watch and listen and spotlight every content creator showing up for themselves, I can’t and have no reason to share anyone’s work if they themselves don’t share after publishing. I respect people’s comfort zone. So I was going to write again in July about how to go about a civil marriage in Uganda and the post is scheduled for the morning of my Wedding. Since my blog is sparked by anything maybe something painting would have made me post something else before.

Yesterday evening after a long day I was reading WinterABC23 work and I was smiling which I found out when I was asked to share why, then I had to share an explanation going back to about 3 years of June African Blogging Challenge and the bit about “Winter” and at that moment I realized I had to share beyond someone who notices every time my facial expressions change.

My spark for this write-up was reading #WinterABC23, personally, I have a million sparks so I can catch fire anytime and those who talk to me refer to me as weird and go ahead to say it in a good way which I find confusing but when people around you are a mirror that shows you who you could be at a certain point in life then you have to pay attention.

One of my sparks is sports even if some people say it’s just rugby. Yes, I love rugby but since I have attempted to take part in any sport out there it’s more than rugby. Meanwhile, I have never lost a Mixed Martial Arts match, 11 wins and now 22 draws maybe I really have a thing for violence but that pain is a beautiful spark in the confines of sports. For now, I am doing sports activism for men’s sports and only support those championing the women’s front but for specific women’s genders not all because I believe in fairness. Since we have bits that hint at activism in the coming weeks of #WinterAbc23 I will maybe say more about the spark for sports and how it could be a solution to Africa’s economy and academia.

My other spark is world events, I believe everything happening in the world affects someone on the other end of the world. Benjamin WATCH blog has bits of world events all over, after 2008 people fell in love, some got divorced while many lost their lives just because of what many plainly called the financial crisis. I don’t take such things lightly, we all remember the aftermath of the pandemic it was one hell of a world event that affected every bit of us. I like watching wars critically because of the woes they bring about to even those of us so far away.

I am sparked by animals, lately, I have even taken an interest in snakes and how they interact with the environment, I still have a mistrust for people who can’t love dogs. When I watch elephants I truly believe humans only started eating fresh after the biblical flood because how are they that strong on huge vegetables?

Someone told me they are 50 and they have never seen what we sometimes refer to as wishing start when every year there is a season when you can see up to 10 in one night, I am fascinated by space like the Palmist was when he said all stars are numbered and have names. I am sparked by facts like no one of us has ever seen the sun in real-time or lived just like other stars. I like the thought of looking at the sky and knowing I am looking at millions of years back and at our own stars a few minutes back.

I have a spark that comes from reading information in any form, it’s that spark that makes me smile and pushes me to think about a million possibilities when I read something that can’t bring a smile. That spark that comes from the quest for information and now a fuel that I relish every after 12 months when I can take in information from across this beautiful continent. The spark from WinterABC is so special because it is from ordinary Africans that have no idea the footprints they are leaving in the digital realm.

Let me go read on.